Seven Alumni Awarded 2015 Sloan Fellowships

Congratulations to seven Caltech alumni and five Caltech professors who have been awarded 2015 Sloan Research Fellowships. The fellowships, awarded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, honor "early-career scientists whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars, the next generation of scientific leaders." This year, 126 young scientists were awarded fellowships in eight scientific and technical fields: chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, computational and evolutionary biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences, and physics. Candidates must be nominated by a department head or other senior researcher and are reviewed by a selection committee of three distinguished scientists in each field.

Recipients include:

Brandi Cossairt (BS ’06)
Jennifer A. Dionne (MS ’05, PhD ’09)
Aaron Esser-Kahn (BS ’04)
Michael Kesden (PhD ’05)
Neal Mankad (PhD ’10)
Stephanie Waterman (MS ’02)

Viviana Gradinaru (BS ’05)
Mitchell Guttman
Gregg Hallinan
Heather Knutson
Xinwen Zhu

Read More

Similar Posts