Six Alumni Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected six Caltech alumni as academy fellows:


Mory Gharib (PhD '83)

Hans W. Liepmann Professor of Aeronautics and Bioinspired Engineering, director of the Ronald and Maxine Linde Institute of Economic and Management Sciences, and vice provost    

Robert Cohen (MS '70, PhD '72)

Professor of Chemical Engineering at MIT and codirector of the DuPont-MIT Alliance. Cohen has served as a professor at MIT for more than four decades and is a recognized leader in polymer science.    

Alexei Filippenko (PhD '84)

Professor of astronomy at UC Berkeley, specializes in supernovae, active galaxies, black holes, gamma-ray bursts, and the expansion of the Universe.    

N. Katherine Hayles (MS '69)

Professor of literature at Duke University and literary critic of science, electronic, and American literature.      

Michael Snyder (PhD'83)

Professor and chair of genetics at Stanford University. Snyder's research focuses on functional genomics and proteomics.

Four other members of the Caltech community were also elected: faculty members Michael B. Elowitz, professor of biology and bioengineering and an investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and Caltech trustees James Rothenberg and Maria Hummer-Tuttle.

Written by Lori Dajose

Similar Posts