Caltech Alumni Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Four Caltech alumni have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the most prestigious scientific organizations in the country. 

Jeffrey A. Harvey (PhD ’81), Enrico Fermi Distinguished Service Professor, Enrico Fermi Institute, University of Chicago, Chicago

Thorne Lay (MS ’80, PhD ’83), Distinguished Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences Department, University of California, Santa Cruz

Stephen Shectman (PhD ’73), staff member, Observatories of the Carnegie Institution for Science, Pasadena, Calif.

Howard Stone (PhD ’88), the Donald R. Dixon and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University


The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council — provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Full list of newly elected members »