Alumni Elected to APS and NAS

Alumni Jessica Tuchman Mathews ('73 PhD BI) and Baldomero Olivera ('66 PhD CH, Distinguished Alumni Award recipient) are newly elected members of the American Philosophical Society. David Agard ('81 PhD CH), Steven Block ('83 PhD BI), William L. Johnson ('75 PhD APh), Harold M. Stark ('61 BS MA), and Clifford Will ('71 PhD PH) were elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Jessica Tuchman Mathews has been the president of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace since 1997. She has worked with both the executive and legislative branches of government, in management and research in the nonprofit sector, and in journalism. She is a director of Somalogic Inc. and a trustee of the Rockefeller Foundation, The Century Foundation, and the Nuclear Threat Initiative. Baldomero Olivera is Distinguished Professor of Biology at the University of Utah and an adjunct professor at the Salk Institute. His research contributions include the discovery and characterization of E. coli DNA ligase. He was honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award in 2002. Mathews and Olivera are among the newest members of the American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States. It was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of "promoting useful knowledge." The Society has 960 elected members, 804 resident members and 156 international members from more than two dozen foreign countries. David Agard is an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and a professor at the department of biochemistry and biophysics, University of California, San Francisco. His research is focused on elucidating the mechanism of microtubule nucleation, Hsp90 chaperone function, and the role of dynamics in enzyme function and folding. Steven Block is a professor of applied physical and biological sciences at Stanford University. His interdisciplinary research focuses on the study of motor proteins. His laboratory pioneered the use of laser-based optical traps ("optical tweezers") to study the nanoscale motions of single biomolecules. William L. Johnson is the Ruben and Donna Mettler Professor of Engineering and Applied Science at Caltech. Johnson's research includes studies of metallic materials including liquid alloys, bulk metallic glasses, nanostructured metals, and metal-matrix composites. Harold M. Stark is a professor of mathematics at the University of California, San Diego. He was also elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1983, has been a professor at UCSD since 1980 and served as the chair of UCSD's Department of Mathematics from 1990 to 1992. Clifford Will is the James S. McDonnell Professor of Physics at Washington University in St. Louis. He has published over 160 scientific articles, including 13 review articles, 26 popular articles, and two books, Theory and Experiment in Gravitational Physics, and Was Einstein Right?. All five are new members of the National Academy of Sciences, a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. It was established in 1863 by a congressional act signed by Abraham Lincoln calling on the Academy to act as an official adviser to the federal government. The Academy membership is composed of approximately 2,000 members and 350 foreign associates.