Alumnus McDonald Honored with Franklin Medal in Physics

Arthur McDonald ('70 PH PhD) has been honored with the 2007 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics along with his colleague Yoji Totsuka. Together they discovered that elementary particles called neutrinos change into one another when traveling over sufficiently long distances, and that neutrinos have mass. Photo courtesy of The Franklin Institute.