E&S Editor Doug Smith Receives Honorary Alumni Award

The award will be presented at the annual Honorary Alumni Awards dinner at Caltech's Athenaeum on Friday, June 15th. Also receiving an award that evening will be Caltech professor Amnon Yariv, who was selected as a recipient in 2011 but was unable to attend last year's dinner.

Annually, the board of the Caltech Alumni Association selects one or more exceptional individuals who are not Caltech degree holders to become honorary members of the Association.

The Honorary Alumni Award and Membership recognizes the individual's advancement of the Alumni Association's mission: "to promote the interests of Caltech as a world standard of academic excellence by strengthening the ties of goodwill and communication between the Institute, its alumni, and its students, and by maintaining programs to serve their needs."

Recipients can be current or past members of the Caltech community, including but not limited to administration, staff, faculty, coaches, arts directors and volunteers.

For a list of past recipients, click here.