Six Alumni Honored with Presidential Award

Six alumni, three former postdocs, and two current faculty members were among those named by President Obama this week as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Among those honored were:


  • Kartik Srinivasan (BS '00, MS '02, PhD '06)
  • Dirk Englund (BS '02)
  • Lan Yang (MS '00, PhD '05)
  • Benjamin Lev (PhD '06)
  • Gregory Howes (BS '94)
  • Benjamin Mazin (PhD '05)

Former Caltech Postdocs:

  • Yasamin Mostofi
  • David Erickson
  • Amir Avestimehr

Caltech Faculty:

  • Victoria Orphan, Professor of Geobiology
  • Elizabeth Cochran, Visiting Associate in Geophysics, US Geological Survey

Former Caltech Staff:

  • Christian Bauer

The Presidential early career awards embody the high priority the Obama Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the Nation’s goals, tackle grand challenges, and contribute to the American economy.  Sixteen Federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America’s preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

Read the Whitehouse Press Release