Class Notes Navigation

Class Notes

Charles Musgrave (Ms '90, PhD '94)

After earning my Ph.D. in Materials Science in 1994 with Bill Goddard and completing a postdoc at MIT, I started my academic career as an assistant professor at Stanford in a joint appointment between Chemical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering. After 11 years at Stanford I moved to the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder where I am now the department chair and continue my research using quantum chemical calculations to design and investigate new materials and molecules for various engineering applications. I have many fond memories of my years at Caltech, especially of my Ph.D. advisor, who I would like to wish Happy Birthday on the occasion of his 80th birthday this March. Happy birthday Bill!

Read More…

Michael Wong (BS '94)

It's hard for this Pageboy to believe that 20+ years have passed since I graduated from 'Tech! After further schooling in Boston and post-doc training in Santa Barbara, I landed in Texas and I've been teaching at Rice University ever since. There are quite a few Techers out here on the "South Coast", as I've learned! I live in Houston with my lovely wife Susan and my daughters Alexandra and Olivia. I'm now Professor and Chair of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department. Research is going well - I received the North American Catalysis Society/Southwest Catalysis Society Excellence in Applied Catalysis Award recently. I am developing catalysis concepts for clean water applications; studying new ways to upgrade biomass and heavy oil; and enjoying doing fun things in nano. I look forward to coming to a Reunion Weekend at some point! "Spe labor levis"


Read More…

Benjamin Smith (BS '94)

After serving Readington Township, NJ for twelve years sitting on volunteer committees including Open Space, Historic Preservation and Planning Board, Ben ran for public office as a Republican. He was elected to the Township Committee for a three year term starting 2016. In January the Committee elected him Mayor for 2017.

Read More…